The Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay will start September 9, 2016 in Corydon, Indiana's first state capital, and culminate with a celebration October 15, 2016 on the grounds of the statehouse in Indianapolis. The torch relay will touch each of Indiana's 92 counties during the 2,300 mile journey across the state. It will be in Monroe County the afternoon of Tuesday, September 20, 2016.

Torch will be received from Brown County at 3pm at the TC Steele State Historic Site. A torch bearer will then be driven to Ellettsville where there will be a short ceremony and the torch will be on its way at approximately 3:45pm. 

The torch will end at the Monroe County Courthouse.

A short ceremony will take place at 5:30pm on the Courthouse Lawn. The torch may or may not have arrived at that time.

For detailed route information click here.

The Torch Bearers for Monroe County have been chosen! Each person has demonstrated exceptional public service, achievement, acts of heroism, and/or volunteer service to their neighborhood, community, region, or state. They will be have the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to represent their community by carrying the torch through the county. The Monroe County Torch Bearers are:

Micheal Barrett             Jack Mulholland 
Lynn Coyne           David Pillar
Doug Bauder           George Pinney
Pat Fell-Barker           Angelo Pizzo
Iris Kiesling            Ronald Remak 
Sheila Bruce           John Tilford
Debbie Lemon           Julie Warren 
Darby McCarty            Kirk White
Sylvia McNair      


Diana Choate in honor of         Maurice Endwright 
Keith Klein in honor of        James Heinzen
Jonathan Barada in honor of        Roland E. "Bud" Kohr
Mick Renneisen in honor of        Lloyd Olcott
Dan Stewart in honor of        Carl Stewart
Sara Laughlin in honor of        Kent Christopher Owen


For the full state map and schedule follow the links below.

Thank you to our Community Celebration sponsor.