Computer Music and Video Recital – Jeffrey Hass & John Gibson, directors

Computer Music and Video Recital

Jeffrey Hass & John Gibson, directors

Presented by the Center for Electronic Computer Music

Repertoire to be announced

About the Directors

John Gibson’s acoustic and electroacoustic music has been presented in the United States, Canada, Europe, South America, and Asia. His instrumental compositions have been performed by many groups, including the London Sinfonietta, Da Capo Chamber Players, Seattle Symphony, Music Today Ensemble, Speculum Musicae, and Ekko!, as well as at the Tanglewood, Marlboro, and June in Buffalo festivals. Presentations of his electroacoustic music include concerts at the Seoul International Computer Music Festival, Bourges Synthèse Festival, Brazilian Symposium on Computer Music, International Biennial for Electroacoustic Music of Sao Paulo, Keio University in Japan, Third Practice Festival, Florida Electroacoustic Music Festival, and several ICMC and SEAMUS conferences. Among his grants and awards are a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, two ASCAP Foundation Grants, and the Paul Jacobs Memorial Fund Commission from the Tanglewood Music Center. Recordings of his music appear on the Centaur and Everglade labels. Gibson holds a Ph.D. in music from Princeton University, where he studied with Milton Babbitt, Paul Lansky, Steven Mackey, and others. He writes sound processing and synthesis software, and he taught composition and computer music at the University of Virginia, Duke University, and the University of Louisville, before joining the Composition at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, where he is associate professor of music (composition: electronic and computer music) and associate director of the Center for Electronic and Computer Music.

Jeffrey Hass is professor of music (composition) and director of the Center for Electronic and Computer Music at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. Hass composes music for electronics combined with large and small acoustic ensembles, video, and dance. His current work involves design of interactive wireless sensor systems for performers and dancers. His music, dance, and video works have been premiered at the International Computer Music Conference, Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS), Australasian Computer Music Conference, Pixilerations, Spark Festival, American College Dance Festival, World Dance Alliance, and many more. He has also delivered papers at the New Interfaces in Musical Expression Conference, Toronto Electroacoustic Conference, and several dance festivals. Awards include ASCAP/Rudolph Nissim Award, National Band Association Competition, Walter Beeler Memorial Award, Lee Ettelson Composer’s Award, United States Army Band Composition Award, Heckscher Orchestral Award, Bogliasco Foundation Fellowship, and Utah Arts Festival Orchestral Commissioning Award. Recordings of his works have been released by the Indiana University Press, SEAMUS, Arizona University Recordings, Albany Records, and RIAX Records. His works are published by Magnetic Resonance Music, Ludwig Music Company, and MMB Music Publishers. Hass is a fellow at the Indiana University Digital Arts and Humanities Institute. He is a former composition and theory instructor at Rutgers University and Interlochen Center for the Arts.


Computer Music and Video Recital – Jeffrey Hass & John Gibson, directors